“Be still and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (Psalm 46:10 NLT). I find that there are times in my life when I must stop doing and start evaluating. In this high speed age of various activities, our minds can only process so much before we start going through the motions. Psalm 46:10 is saying that there are moments when we must realize that all that we say and do pales in comparison to what God says and does. The NASB words the first part of this verse as “Cease striving,” which helps us define the meaning of the text by shedding light on the relative futility of human ordeals in comparison to God. Given this understanding, when I stop to “be still” I’m surrendering my hold of how┬áI think the events in my life must play out, and I’m choosing to hold onto God instead. It is almost always in moments like these, when I am reminded of God’s truth, and suddenly I see. I see where the church and I have confused cultural norms and expectations with the counter cultural Word of God. My hope for this blog is that my writing will help me remember what God has shown me, and that it will lead others to “Be still and know.”

Leave a Reply

